Skip to main content

Week in Review


Good evening. I'm a little late but I'm actually posting this while it's still Monday, so that's good! I hope those of you in the U.S. had a fabulous Memorial Day weekend. We did. We had a great potluck with neighbors on Saturday night, then went to see the Triangle Wind Ensemble at an outdoor venue on Sunday night. They played several John Williams songs and some patriotic songs as well. It was a lot of fun. Today, we ended the long weekend with a cookout with friends and then a trip to the pool.

Recent Reviews and Other Posts
I posted an interview with author Karen Inglis last week. I can't believe I didn't manage to write some reviews. I'm determined to do that this week, even though I'm also participating in Armchair BEA.

What I'm Reading
I read The Show by John A. Heldt last week. It was a great follow up to The Mine, which I read last year.

Up Next for Me
Now I'm reading some children's books I have for review, before moving on to another adult book. I'll be reading three books by Karen Inglis, which you can read about in my interview with her, and Tom T's Hat Rack by Michele Spry.
What C is Reading
C finished the Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. He then picked up The Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan from the library, and read that. Now he's reading The Thirteenth Unicorn by W.D. Newman. It's a book that was available for free on my Nook, and his friend read it so he decided to try it out as well.

What M is Reading
M has several different books going this week. She's still loving Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones. She also love picking up old books from her shelf that we used to read to her, and reading them to herself now.

What are you reading this week? It's Monday! is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey, so hop over there if you'd like to see what others are reading too. You can also see more children's book reviews at The Children's Bookshelf.

Comments

  1. I still haven't read The Kane Chronicles, but love Riordan's other books. Just started The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis, which seems like a readalike to Percy Jackson.

    The Monster Report

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's good to know. I'll have to check out The Colossus Rises for my son! Thanks!

      Delete
  2. I enjoy switching back and forth between grown-up books and kids/teen books.

    Oh, I forgot to tell you - I was wrong about Jamie last week. It was his second time reading The Lost Hero. He likes to re-read all the books in a series before he reads a new one (he's crazy that way), so he re-read it so he could move onto Books 2 & 3. He is LOVING having some reading time with school out!

    Oh, and I kicked off my Big Book Summer Challenge this weekend so check it out.

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Big Book Summer Challenge

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm definitely going to join your challenge! Thanks for the reminder. I need to do that!

      I'm glad Jamie is enjoying his reading time now that school is out! I'm sure he'll love the rest of those books in that series!

      Delete
  3. The Show looks good. I'm reading The Host and Anna Karenina.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are two big books! I hope you're enjoying them.

      Delete
  4. I haven't read these books. I'm currently reading Sarah Ockler's latest book. Thanks for sharing at The Children's Bookshelf, I hope you join us again when we return in September.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Popular posts from this blog

Banned Books Week: Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park

This is the end of Banned Books Week and unfortunately, I haven't had a lot of time to write about banned books this year. But I did want to include at least one post about it, so today I wanted to share one of the book series that it seems most people are surprised to find on the list: Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park.

According to Wikipedia:
The Junie B. Jones series came in at #71 on the American Library Association's list of the Top 100 Banned or Challenged Books from 2000-2009. Reasons cited are poor social values taught by the books and Junie B. Jones not being considered a good role model due to her mouthiness and bad spelling/grammar. This is an interesting example of a banned book. Many times there are serious, controversial topics featured in books that are challenged. Things like homosexuality, drugs, vulgar language, etc. You can actually understand why people may not want their children to read those books, and why they may challenge their inclusion in school libra…

Book Review: No Story to Tell by KJ Steele

Victoria has been put down since the day she was born. First by her parents who were disappointed that she survived while her twin brother died. Then by her verbally abusive husband and his low-life friends. But soon an intriguing artist named Elliott arrives in town and starts encouraging Victoria to follow her dream of opening her own dance studio. She also begins to receive phone calls from a mysterious someone who gets her to open up about her past and face her true feelings.

In No Story to Tell, KJ Steele has captured the small-town atmosphere and brought these characters to life. From the victimized Victoria, to her drunk and obnoxious husband Bobby and his drunk and obnoxious friends, to all the side characters who you'd expect to encounter in a town like this ~ all are so realistic in both their actions and their voices. She has written a compelling story of an abused woman who thinks she is trapped in this loveless, miserable existence. But then she finds a spark of hope…

Book Review: I See You by Clare Mackintosh

Title: I See You
Author: Clare Mackintosh
Genre: thriller
Published: February 21, 2017
Format: ebook (NetGalley)
Source: publisher
Buy on Amazon(affiliate link)


Have you ever felt like someone was watching you? You will after reading Clare Mackintosh's latest release I See You. Told from the perspectives of two women, one who appears to be targeted by a criminal and the other who is the police officer working the case, this psychological thriller will have you looking over your own shoulder by the end.

Zoe is a typical working mother who takes the Underground through London to her office every day. Like most commuters, she has a routine that she follows every day, leaving home at the same time, sitting in the same train car, taking the same route to work from the station. It's habit. But she starts to realize this may not be a good idea after seeing her own photo in an advertisement in the newspaper. Another woman who appears in the advertisement is murdered and Zoe starts to ge…