Skip to main content

Week in Review


Good evening. I'm a little late but I'm actually posting this while it's still Monday, so that's good! I hope those of you in the U.S. had a fabulous Memorial Day weekend. We did. We had a great potluck with neighbors on Saturday night, then went to see the Triangle Wind Ensemble at an outdoor venue on Sunday night. They played several John Williams songs and some patriotic songs as well. It was a lot of fun. Today, we ended the long weekend with a cookout with friends and then a trip to the pool.

Recent Reviews and Other Posts
I posted an interview with author Karen Inglis last week. I can't believe I didn't manage to write some reviews. I'm determined to do that this week, even though I'm also participating in Armchair BEA.

What I'm Reading
I read The Show by John A. Heldt last week. It was a great follow up to The Mine, which I read last year.

Up Next for Me
Now I'm reading some children's books I have for review, before moving on to another adult book. I'll be reading three books by Karen Inglis, which you can read about in my interview with her, and Tom T's Hat Rack by Michele Spry.
What C is Reading
C finished the Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. He then picked up The Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan from the library, and read that. Now he's reading The Thirteenth Unicorn by W.D. Newman. It's a book that was available for free on my Nook, and his friend read it so he decided to try it out as well.

What M is Reading
M has several different books going this week. She's still loving Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones. She also love picking up old books from her shelf that we used to read to her, and reading them to herself now.

What are you reading this week? It's Monday! is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey, so hop over there if you'd like to see what others are reading too. You can also see more children's book reviews at The Children's Bookshelf.

Comments

  1. I still haven't read The Kane Chronicles, but love Riordan's other books. Just started The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis, which seems like a readalike to Percy Jackson.

    The Monster Report

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's good to know. I'll have to check out The Colossus Rises for my son! Thanks!

      Delete
  2. I enjoy switching back and forth between grown-up books and kids/teen books.

    Oh, I forgot to tell you - I was wrong about Jamie last week. It was his second time reading The Lost Hero. He likes to re-read all the books in a series before he reads a new one (he's crazy that way), so he re-read it so he could move onto Books 2 & 3. He is LOVING having some reading time with school out!

    Oh, and I kicked off my Big Book Summer Challenge this weekend so check it out.

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Big Book Summer Challenge

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm definitely going to join your challenge! Thanks for the reminder. I need to do that!

      I'm glad Jamie is enjoying his reading time now that school is out! I'm sure he'll love the rest of those books in that series!

      Delete
  3. The Show looks good. I'm reading The Host and Anna Karenina.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are two big books! I hope you're enjoying them.

      Delete
  4. I haven't read these books. I'm currently reading Sarah Ockler's latest book. Thanks for sharing at The Children's Bookshelf, I hope you join us again when we return in September.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!

Popular posts from this blog

Getting back to blogging

It seems that blogging has dropped to the bottom of my list for the past year, and was pretty low for the year or two prior to that. I love to read, and am continuing to do so, but as my regular readers know I haven't been around much. My last blog post was almost a year ago!!

There are many things that have taken me away from blogging. Work has been much more challenging and interesting these past few years, but that means I really don't want to get back on the computer when I get home at night - or on the weekends.

Family life has been more busy with kids having multiple activities in the evenings, leaving little time to just hang out and write about the books that I read.

I will admit to a bit of a Facebook addiction, which means way too much time spent scrolling through my newsfeed instead of doing something more productive. This is one of the things I'm working on and hoping that this will free up some time for getting back to the blog.

Overall, life is good. Work is …

Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop

I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Mundie Moms are hosting the Freedom to Read Giveaway Hop in honor of Independence Day in the United States, and I've decided to participate.

To stick with the theme of Independence Day, I'm doing what I did last year for this hop:

I'm giving away a book of your choice that is written by an author from the United States.
It can be any genre as long as the author is from the United States. You choose the book (up to $15), and I'll order it and have it mailed to you from Book Depository.

The contest ends on Thursday, July 5th at midnight Eastern Time. The winner will be notified by e-mail. If they do not respond within 48 hours, a new winner will be drawn.

Happy 4th of July! I hope you have a safe and fun holiday!

Enter here:
a Rafflecopter giveaway
Now check out all of the other giveaways you can enter at the links below!

Freedom Giveaway Hop

Simply Stacie and I Am A Reader, Not A Writer are hosting the Freedom Giveaway Hop in honor of Independence Day in the United States, and I've decided to participate.

To stick with the theme of Independence Day:

I'm giving away a book of your choice that is written by an author from the United States.
It can be any genre as long as the author is from the United States. You choose the book (up to $15), and I'll order it and have it mailed to you from the vendor of my choice.

To enter, all you have to do is leave a comment below telling me your favorite U.S. author (this doesn't have to be the author of the book you choose if you're the winner). Include your email address so I can contact you if you win. This giveaway is open to U.S. and Canadian mailing addresses only. I've decided to open this up to international entries as long as Book Depository ships to your address.

For extra entries:
Leave a separate comment if you follow My Book Retreat through Google Frie…