Monday, May 27, 2013

Week in Review


Good evening. I'm a little late but I'm actually posting this while it's still Monday, so that's good! I hope those of you in the U.S. had a fabulous Memorial Day weekend. We did. We had a great potluck with neighbors on Saturday night, then went to see the Triangle Wind Ensemble at an outdoor venue on Sunday night. They played several John Williams songs and some patriotic songs as well. It was a lot of fun. Today, we ended the long weekend with a cookout with friends and then a trip to the pool.

Recent Reviews and Other Posts
I posted an interview with author Karen Inglis last week. I can't believe I didn't manage to write some reviews. I'm determined to do that this week, even though I'm also participating in Armchair BEA.

What I'm Reading
I read The Show by John A. Heldt last week. It was a great follow up to The Mine, which I read last year.

Up Next for Me
Now I'm reading some children's books I have for review, before moving on to another adult book. I'll be reading three books by Karen Inglis, which you can read about in my interview with her, and Tom T's Hat Rack by Michele Spry.
What C is Reading
C finished the Kane Chronicles series by Rick Riordan. He then picked up The Demigod Diaries by Rick Riordan from the library, and read that. Now he's reading The Thirteenth Unicorn by W.D. Newman. It's a book that was available for free on my Nook, and his friend read it so he decided to try it out as well.

What M is Reading
M has several different books going this week. She's still loving Ivy and Bean and Junie B. Jones. She also love picking up old books from her shelf that we used to read to her, and reading them to herself now.

What are you reading this week? It's Monday! is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey, so hop over there if you'd like to see what others are reading too. You can also see more children's book reviews at The Children's Bookshelf.

7 comments:

  1. I still haven't read The Kane Chronicles, but love Riordan's other books. Just started The Colossus Rises by Peter Lerangis, which seems like a readalike to Percy Jackson.

    The Monster Report

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's good to know. I'll have to check out The Colossus Rises for my son! Thanks!

      Delete
  2. I enjoy switching back and forth between grown-up books and kids/teen books.

    Oh, I forgot to tell you - I was wrong about Jamie last week. It was his second time reading The Lost Hero. He likes to re-read all the books in a series before he reads a new one (he's crazy that way), so he re-read it so he could move onto Books 2 & 3. He is LOVING having some reading time with school out!

    Oh, and I kicked off my Big Book Summer Challenge this weekend so check it out.

    Sue

    Book By Book

    Big Book Summer Challenge

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm definitely going to join your challenge! Thanks for the reminder. I need to do that!

      I'm glad Jamie is enjoying his reading time now that school is out! I'm sure he'll love the rest of those books in that series!

      Delete
  3. The Show looks good. I'm reading The Host and Anna Karenina.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are two big books! I hope you're enjoying them.

      Delete
  4. I haven't read these books. I'm currently reading Sarah Ockler's latest book. Thanks for sharing at The Children's Bookshelf, I hope you join us again when we return in September.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by! I'd love to hear your thoughts!